Windy & Warm

presented by David Walker


The 2013 Audit

Favorite Albums of 2013:

1. Vampire Weekend- Modern Vampires of the City

2. Twin Peaks- Sunken

3. Mutual Benefit- Love’s Crushing Diamond

4. Swearin’- Surfing Strange

5. Kevin Morby- Harlem River

6. Unknown Mortal Orchestra- II

7. Shannon and the Clams- Dreams in the Rat House

8. Bill Callahan- Dream River

9. Savages- Silence Yourself

10. Deafheaven- Sunbather

Favorite Tracks of 2013:

1. Vampire Weekend- “Everlasting Arms”

2. Classixx- “Holding On”

3. Unknown Mortal Orchestra- “Swim and Sleep (Like a Shark)”

4. Haim- “The Wire”

5. Washed Out- “It All Feels Right”

6. Joanna Gruesome- “Wussy Void”

7. Swearin’- “Watered Down”

8. Dent May- “Yazoo”

9. Foxygen- “Oh Yeah”

10. Rhye- “Open”


With the bombardment of Kanye rants, Miley madness, and Daft Punk filling in where Gotye left off, 2013 still offered refuge in a plethora of seemingly-perfect albums scattered across many genres. Haim showed some promise for pop music, Vampire Weekend solidified their seat on the indie-god throne, Savages lived up to their band name, and the Unknown Mortal Orchestra guy made another great album in his little leather yarmulke. Bill Callahan’s music still freaked my mom out and I still don’t care, Deafheaven suntanned the pasty, black-metallers, and Mutual Benefit finally stepped out of the .bandcamp portal and into the limelight. This year has been wonderful.

Sylvan Esso, the genre-crossing project for artists Amelia Randall Meath and Nicholas Sanborn, is certainly a stellar combination likely to continue to gain recognition for their crisp sound. Amelia sprinkles her beautiful folk-flavored voice that may sound familiar if you heard her last project, Mountain Man, across Nicholas Sanborn’s chilly industrial dance beats. The duo are both leaving folk histories as Sanborn has been on the roster for the freak-folk king, Megafaun. Sylvan Esso are North Carolina-based and just finished a small tour opening for Volcano Choir thanks in part to NC buddy, Justin Vernon. No word on when to expect a full length album from these guys. Until then, enjoy the two songs that have been released thus far and the slew of remixes attached.

Keats Collective brings (yet again) another excellent funk-infused artist to fruition. This time the culprit is Big Wild from Boston, MA. His latest track Freedom of Joy was a release from the second installment of the Keats Future Funk Fridays which will hopefully continue to keep each Friday especially tasty. Big Wild will bring his first LP Native Echos to light December 9th thanks to Cosmonostro.

The New Year begins with a smooth-sailing collection of beats by one of the glossiest producers around, Vanilla. The latest release, For What It’s Worth, is a medley of jazz-sampled tracks created by the Oxford beatmaker. Enjoy the instrumentals free-of-charge and keep a lookout for a more proper release coming in 2013. 

Streets of Laredo | Girlfriend (Official) from Streets of Laredo on Vimeo.

It didn’t take Brooklyn newcomers Streets of Laredo much time to create a wonderfully appealing stop-motion video to accommodate their catchy new folk debut ‘Girlfriend.’ The band from Auckland, New Zealand presents a montage of city scenes all around New York that meshes beautifully with one of the most fun songs I’ve heard in quite some time. Armed with just a few rough demos, this piece is sure to catalyze the hype around this country-styled, urban-minded sound. 

Deep, heartfelt beauty pours from the geyser of dreamy Portland duo Pure Bathing Culture. PBC consists of Vetiver members Daniel Hindman and Sarah Versprille who channel their smooth-sailing, warm pop breezes across the 5-song debut EP released on Father/Daughter Records. Check out Sean Pecknold of Fleet Foxes’ beautiful video adaptation for “Ivory Coast.” 

Pure Bathing Culture - Ivory Coast from Sean Pecknold on Vimeo.

The Prince of Polynesian psychedelia, Monster Rally, returns to the warmth of his tropical, Carribean shorelines in Coasting EP. The EP with RUMTUM is the second chapter in the exotic experimental collaboration since MR&RT released in February on Lenfse Records. The six tracks expose RUMTUM & Monster Rally's calypso rhythm and dance styled flavor that will spice up the soul of the New World. 

The 12” black vinyl is available on Gold Robot with a Mandala etching on one side of the record. 

Rhythmic essences pour from the beautiful new material from Brookyln’s Tony Castles. The trio's newest release Sharon Stone EP greets listeners with a gently floating fog of pleasant proportions dramatized by smooth, soulful vocals. The gem from the debut will be “Heart in the Pipes,” a dreamy, heartfelt ballad that deserves high attention. Also, enjoy the LA-based remix expert Kauf’s sexually-charged remix of “Heart in the Pipes.”

The lights are dim. The flickering flame of the candle flashes shadows on the bedroom walls. In the background, a smooth slice of slow-churning buttery beats creates an appetite for passion. The aphrodisiac at hand is Winnipeg-based Box of Wolves, sprouting roots in the same plot as chillwave paramounts like Teen Daze and Washed Out. The latest release from Gabriel Akinrinmade, Occasion EP, is wrapped in ambrosial, sensual grooves to crush on. 

Bringing his influences from Sudan to Brooklyn is Sinkane. Sinkane is Ahmed Gallab, and one of the newest artist to release an album on James Murphy of LCD Soundsystem’s prestigious DFA Records label. Mars LP puts an Arabic lens on the Brooklyn disco-house spectacles. The often-jazzy grooves of Sinkane provide a fusion for the cultural differences his worldly upbringing has imposed.